top of page

DreamState Update

I’ve been making a lot of progress on this concept album. The arrangement for the opening track is almost done. It’s big, beautiful, and cinematic. Honestly, it sounds like a movie score! That’s appropriate too, because this album plays out very much like a movie. It’s a story. DreamState is a really big deal for me. The very idea of tackling a concept album can seem daunting in a world of singles, but to undertake a double album? That’s ludicrous, right? Well, maybe not… People read long books and watch long movies, why should music be any different? Maybe that’s presumptuous, but I would listen to an 80+ minute concept album. In fact, I’ve listened to several 80+ minute concept albums dozens of times. I know I can’t be alone. Another reason this album is such a big deal is that it has been through so many revisions! I’m confident in the quality of the story and the music because it’s been stewing for ten years! Normally I’ll bat around an idea for a few days before I toss it in the trash. In most cases, I won’t even finish a song I don’t believe in because I can tell it isn’t going anywhere from the first verse. DreamState has been picked up and shelved countless times, but I never once threw it away. I knew all along that I’d finish it someday. I’m so close to accomplishing something I could’ve only dreamed of when I started. Hearing the songs take shape, the idea realized, it’s extremely exciting. I’m doing things I never thought I’d be able to do. I’m pushing myself to deliver an album that is worth a ten year wait. These arrangements are sophisticated and complex while also being catchy and emotional. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to put together a live version of this project because I don’t have that kind of money. I don’t have a chamber group in my back pocket to play these arrangements. This is an audio experience. This is the type of thing you sit in a pitch-black room and listen to with headphones on. It’s the sort of thing you visualize in your head… for now. I’d love to do an animated or live-action movie someday. If you are interested in learning more or even participating in the making and/or promotion of this album, please message me! Send me an email! Comment on this blog post! Here's a teaser: a little of a minute from the first track "Remember Part I" Keep in mind that this isn't complete yet!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page