top of page

Holiday Cooking

I’m juggling a lot of different projects, as is often the case with me. I can easily compartmentalize my songwriting, which makes for well thought-out and organized albums. The downside is that those projects all pile up on the stove, so some projects end up taking a little longer to cook. Others may get a little burnt on the bottom if I neglect to stir them for a while. Some may boil over if left on a flame that’s a little too hot. It’s a delicate balance that isn’t always easy to maintain. I’ve still got DreamState cooking. It’s basically done, I’m just waiting for some bass tracks before I can start mixing. That’s a rather hefty dish, so it’ll likely take a little more time on the backburner. I definitely let this one boil over more than once. I assumed it was done back in 2015, but then I kept adding more songs. I guess the more time a broth has to simmer, the more complex the flavor will be. In the meantime, I’ve been filming a mini “making of” documentary for DreamState. I’m hoping to get that put together and out sometime in early 2018 as the album wraps up. In the midst of that massive concept album I’ve been writing a lot of songs for my new band, Three Philosophers. We’ve got a pretty good setlist so far. We’ve been planning an album and trying to get some shows together. We’ve got a single mostly recorded and are hoping to get that out soon. It’s been fun developing our sound and interesting seeing how that has altered my songwriting. I was worried that it’d be hard to distinguish which of my songs would end up with Three Philosophers and which songs I’d keep for myself, but it seems as though the songs themselves make the choice. Certain songs just have that Three Philosophers sound to them and I think you’ll know what I mean when we get these songs out there. In the oven I’ve got a musical cooking. Yes, you read that correctly. I’m working on a full-fledged musical. It is currently in the very early stages of production, but I’m very excited about it. I’ve got a LOT of work to do, so I don’t expect to be able to talk in depth about it for a while. At the front of the stove I’ve got a new Christmas song stewing. I started writing it about two years ago and gave up when I realized it wouldn’t be ready for Christmas 2015. I kicked it around again in 2016 only to give up for the same reason. This year, I’ve finally finished it and will have it released in time for THIS CHRISTMAS. Be prepared for some Christmas Magic, feat. Rob Hewitt on drums. I have a few things that I haven’t even taken out of the fridge yet. I’m trying to take on a few production jobs. I’ll update you on those as they come to fruition. Enjoy your festive foods and don’t forget to watch the Grey Cup this Sunday #GoArgos

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page